Australian Curriculum

A young boy in uniform sitting on a drum in the library and reading a picture book. The Australian Curriculum sets the expectations for what all Australian students should be taught, regardless of where they live or their background. For F-10, it means that students now have access to the same content, and their achievements can be judged against consistent national standards.

Schools and teachers are responsible for the organisation of learning and they will choose contexts for learning and plan learning in ways that best meet their students’ needs and interests. The Australian Curriculum sets out the core knowledge, understanding, skills and general capabilities important for all Australian students. The Australian Curriculum describes the learning entitlement of students as a foundation for their future learning, growth and active participation in the Australian community. It makes clear what all young Australians should learn as they progress through schooling. ACARA is responsible for the development of the Australian Curriculum from Foundation to Year 12. The development of the Australian Curriculum has been guided by two key documents; the Melbourne Declaration on Education Goals for Young Australians and the Shape of the Australian Curriculum.  An overview of the rationale for the Australian Curriculum can be found on the Australian Curriculum website.

All Independent schools in Victoria must implement the Australian Curriculum.

All Independent schools in Victoria must implement the Australian Curriculum. Implementation is defined as the use of the content descriptions and achievement standards to assess student progress and achievement in all areas of the curriculum.

It is expected all schools are planning their teaching and learning programs for 2017 in all learning areas and making any necessary adjustments to the curriculum to ensure that all students have the opportunity to demonstrate achievement against the new Standards.

Implementation of the first stage of the Australian Curriculum (English, Mathematics, History and Science) for Foundation to Year 10 has been a requirement since 2013.

Independent schools in Victoria may choose to:

  • access the Australian Curriculum directly
    • access the Australian Curriculum directly. Version 8.3 is the final version of the Australian Curriculum and should be referenced as the curriculum to be fully implemented from 2017.
  • access the Victorian Curriculum, which is the Foundation to Year 10 curriculum for government and Catholic sector schools in Victoria from 2017, and is a resource available to all independent schools to support implementation of the new Australian Curriculum.
    • the Victorian Curriculum Foundation to Year 10 incorporates the Australian Curriculum and reflects Victorian standards and priorities. The AusVels curriculum was a transition curriculum and is no longer available.
    • a range of resources has been developed to support the implementation of the Victorian Curriculum, including information about curriculum planning and assessment, curriculum area-specific advice and professional learning opportunities. For a visual guide to assist locating key information and resources related to the Victorian Curriculum Foundation to Year 10, please see the Quick Guide.
    • information on the similarities and differences between the Australian Curriculum and the Victorian Curriculum can be found here.
  • offer an alternative curriculum framework that is registered with ACARA. Such frameworks include:
    • International Baccalaureate Primary Years Program (PYP) and Middle Years Program (MYP)
    • Australian Steiner Curriculum Framework
    • Montessori National Curriculum Framework.

Visit the ACARA website for more information.

Reporting Student Achievement for Independent Sector Schools for Foundation to Year 10

Independent schools are required to provide plain language reports to the parents or carers of each student from years 1 – 10 inclusive at least twice a year that:

  • are readily understandable to those responsible for the student and give an accurate and objective assessment of the student’s progress and achievement
  • include an assessment of the student’s achievements against any available national standards (the Standards described in the Australian Curriculum or Victorian Curriculum)
  • include, for subjects studied, an assessment of the student’s achievement:
    • reported as A, B, C, D and E (or an equivalent five-point scale), clearly defined against specific learning standards
    • relative to the performance of the student’s peer group at the school.

Assessment of the student’s achievement is against the achievement standards of Australian Curriculum.

Links and Resources

PDFThe Melbourne Declaration on Educational Goals for Young Australians

PDFComparison between Australian Curriculum and Victorian Curriculum